2023 Elections: INEC To Reset 2,500 BVAS For Supplementary Election.


The Independent National Electoral Commission has said that over 3,000 Bimodal Voter Authentication Systems would be deployed for the supplementary elections, scheduled for Saturday, April 15.

A top official of the commission, who spoke to our correspondent on Tuesday, said that over 3,000 BVAS would be configured and re-configured.

INEC would conduct supplementary elections in 2,660 polling units across 185 local government areas of 24 states.

Elections for 26 governorship, 104 senatorial, 329 national and 935 state Assembly seats had been concluded and winners declared.

The commission had announced that all pending governorship, national, and state assembly supplemental elections will take place in all locations where they had previously been postponed owing to difficulties, including violence, for which the election was deemed inconclusive.

Under the condition of anonymity, an INEC source stated that during the general elections in 2023, over 2,000 BVAS will be reconfigured and some new BVAS would be configured to replace the stolen or damaged equipment.

Because the ones used for the previous election were either stolen or damaged, certain BVAS will be configured from scratch.

We must configure new devices for such PUs because we cannot reconfigure stolen or damaged BVAS.

Over 2,500 BVAS are being reconfigured, along with some new configurations and backups.

The insider stated that “the total BVAS that will be deployed, including backup, will be a bit over 3,000.”

In 20 LGs in each of the states of Adamawa and Kebbi, additional governorship elections will be held. Each of the two states has 21 LGs.

With 36,935 and 94,209 eligible voters, respectively, 69 polling units and 142 polling units in Kebbi state will host the elections in Adamawa.

Elections for the state Houses of Assembly will take place in 57 constituencies across 17 states.

Akwa Ibom has one, Bayelsa has one, Ebonyi has five, Edo has three, Ekiti has one, Imo has five, Kaduna has five, Kano has fourteen, Kebbi has eight, Niger has four, Ogun has one, Taraba has one, Yobe has one, Jigawa has three, Katsina has three, and Adamawa has one (four).

The states of Sokoto, Kebbi, and Zamfara in the northwest will have senate elections.

In the meanwhile, additional House of Representatives elections will be held in 15 states and 31 seats.

There are two each from Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Imo, Kano, Kebbi, Kogi, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto (11), Taraba, two each from Zamfara and Jigawa, and one each from Ebonyi state (one).